Anyone Wanna Trade? …90’s Lunch Time!

Cafeteria food was never appealing to me, so from kindergarten up until my last day in elementary school, my mom packed my lunchbox with the staple pb&j, and to keep him company was an assortment of delicious and never nutritious snacks. So today instead of counting calories like a boring adult, indulge in at least some memories of some favorite foods from your past…

Image

Warheads
Not a traditional lunchtime snack, but you were happy to have a couple of these sour pusses in your bag. And who didn’t go there, and hold the little candy on their tongue to see if the playground legend was true? I for one never got a hole in my tongue.

Image

Fruit by the Foot
The snack that keeps on giving and when you’re 8, a foot seems like a lifetime. But when you’re an adult who still believes this “fruit” is healthy, you’re left a little hungry. That’s why you eat the whole box!

Image

Gushers
Go to the store right now, buy a box of red ones and then pretend to be on The Walking Dead.

Image

Hot Cheetos
Turning fingers red for decades, Hot Cheetos were the ultimate playground must have, and for those who dared take on the flame, I salute you.

Image

Fruit Roll-Ups
Okay, so Fruit Roll-Ups and Fruit by the Foot taste the same, but alas they are SO different! Roll-Ups started out as simple squares, but then evolved into being an activity set with shapes that pulled out. Who says you can’t play with your food?

Image

Capri Sun
These rarely seen my lunchbox due to the fact that my little brother and I would drink them all before the first round of Saturday Morning Cartoons were over and done with, sorry mom.

Image

Rice Krispies
So you’re telling me we no longer have to take mom’s homemade ones? Score. When these came out, you could never forget how soft and chewy they were compared to the homemade kind. Again, sorry mom…

Image

Dunk-a-Roos
So they say we’re an obese nation…I wonder why? Truth though, I’d rather die with these little morsels of goodness in me than in a pair of single digit pants.

Image

Squeezeits
The coolest things about this drink wasn’t that they had animated faces on the bottles or the easy access to quenching ones thirst. It was the fact that they turned into awesome bath toys when you were done.

Image

Lunchables
Why mess with a classic. It’s a whole meal in one box, even desert…In the form of a miniature Snickers. But after all these years I still can’t believe some would eat the pizza one cold.

About sunnymenagerie

Socially awkward in most situations most 25 years olds would call easy, that’s me. TV is my soul mate, Music is my mistress and writing is my best friend. Without those three things, I’d be in an insane asylum calling myself Rosa Parks, refusing to sit in the back of the so called bus. I know more about pop culture and celebrities than I do about my family history, and I’d like to keep it that way. Words I live by: We´re all tiny books in one big compilation called life. Some of us will wait for what seems like forever for our climactic part to come. Others will have a romance novel their entire life. Or maybe one filled with just adventure. Or one that is a poetic tragedy. Then, there are those that will have best sellers. You know, the ones that everyone wants to read and base their versions on? Don´t forget the little paperbacks sold at the carwash that only a select few will ever lay eyes on. We´re all born with the power to either take what was written for us or choose our own adventures.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

