Adaptations…the 90’s Way

With The Hunger Games being the only thing people are talking about these days, I wanted to take a look back at some books that were made into movies in the 90’s. So in a Kanye move (never isn’t funny to me), Hunger Games, I’m gonna let you have your box office gold right now, but we gotta admit, the 90’s kicked ass when it came to book adaptations.

A Little Princess
This is one of the darkest movies I watched as a kid. I mean dead parents and kid slavery all set in a musty looking girls school. But one of the best quotes of the decade, “I am a princess. All girls are.” ‘nuff said.

ImageKid in King Arthur’s Court
Before he made Tara Reid exclaim in American Pie, Thomas Ian was just your typical time traveling kid who lands in a Renaissance Faire attendees wet dream.

ImageDr. Dolittle
Norm Macdonald, sadly this was one of the last things I found you and Eddie Murphy top notch in…and you were a dog.

ImageTom & Huck
90’s king Jonathan Taylor Thomas alongside Brad Renfro taught us that JTT is adorable no matter what century and also a little bit about the ever precocious Tom Sawyer and Huckleberry Finn.

ImageJames and the Giant Peach
I still have nightmares about those over sized bugs, but damn if that adventure wouldn’t have been worth the Fear Factor style traveling.

ImageHook
Peter Pan is everyone’s’ hero who looks at adulthood and laughs, even when Peter is Robin Williams.

ImageHarriet the Spy
Lets all give thanks to the movie that spawned a sea of composition books.

ImageJumanji
Another thanks to ABC Family for playing this movie every other weekend. My procrastination never looked better. Also, Kirsten Dunst’s best role ever.

ImageMatilda
We all wanted her powers and thought if we read enough it could happen.

The Babysitters Club
To be fair, Goosebumps never did movie like this. So as far as series and the 90’s go, BSC is da’ bomb. Each girl represented someone we all knew and even ourselves and while I’m still iffy over Stacy and that older boy, I’ll forever treasure this VHS.

About sunnymenagerie

Socially awkward in most situations most 25 years olds would call easy, that’s me. TV is my soul mate, Music is my mistress and writing is my best friend. Without those three things, I’d be in an insane asylum calling myself Rosa Parks, refusing to sit in the back of the so called bus. I know more about pop culture and celebrities than I do about my family history, and I’d like to keep it that way. Words I live by: We´re all tiny books in one big compilation called life. Some of us will wait for what seems like forever for our climactic part to come. Others will have a romance novel their entire life. Or maybe one filled with just adventure. Or one that is a poetic tragedy. Then, there are those that will have best sellers. You know, the ones that everyone wants to read and base their versions on? Don´t forget the little paperbacks sold at the carwash that only a select few will ever lay eyes on. We´re all born with the power to either take what was written for us or choose our own adventures.
Aside | This entry was posted in 90's Culture and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Adaptations…the 90’s Way

  1. Off Duty Mom says:

    This is very interesting because I consider myself a 90’s movie aficionado and I am not familiar with most of these movies here. You, I am thinking, are much younger than I am and, therefore, have a very different memory of the 1990s. Interesting. Loved reading your post despite our generation gap! Great stuff…

Leave a Reply

