Movie Spotlight: Drop Dead Fred

How I came upon this gem is beyond me. I remember waiting for it come on TV and my mom and dad (there on his weekly visit) sitting on the couch, me on the floor, eyes wide. Always a kid with an active imagination, I loved the idea of friends only you could see. Plus, Fred was crude, hilarious and easy on the eyes. Thank someone this took the leap from VHS to DVD sooner than later because now I watch it anytime, which is usually once a month. I take a Saturday, sit with a bag of Doritos and indulge.

But why is this movie one to highlight? Well it’s not because it’s my all-time favorite movie (if we ever had a trivia contest, take notes. I wanted to showcase Drop Dead Fred because of what it stands for as a whole.

Lizzie was a precocious child who took had herself an imaginary friend names “Drop Dead Fred.” Her mom was a “mega bitch” and her dad was a saint. When the mega bitch traps Fred in a jack-in-the-box, Lizzie’s life takes a turn. Fast forward to the dreary adult Lizzie and she’s down in the dumps, literally. She’s separated from her husband and unemployed; luck hates her. So Fred appears again and won’t go away until she’s happy again. The back and forth between these two cause the mega bitch to take medicated action…I don’t want to write the whole plot, but all you have to know is that this movie is awesome for many reasons…

The major reason though? To me it was about showcasing that you don’t need the “normal” friend or life to be happy. You have to shake the shit and get on the track that’s the best fir for you and not a route that someone else thinks is good for you.

Drop Dead Fred is a necessity for all 90’s kids to have watched based on the fact that it embodies the idea of childhood, which kids today lack.

About sunnymenagerie

Socially awkward in most situations most 25 years olds would call easy, that’s me. TV is my soul mate, Music is my mistress and writing is my best friend. Without those three things, I’d be in an insane asylum calling myself Rosa Parks, refusing to sit in the back of the so called bus. I know more about pop culture and celebrities than I do about my family history, and I’d like to keep it that way. Words I live by: We´re all tiny books in one big compilation called life. Some of us will wait for what seems like forever for our climactic part to come. Others will have a romance novel their entire life. Or maybe one filled with just adventure. Or one that is a poetic tragedy. Then, there are those that will have best sellers. You know, the ones that everyone wants to read and base their versions on? Don´t forget the little paperbacks sold at the carwash that only a select few will ever lay eyes on. We´re all born with the power to either take what was written for us or choose our own adventures.
This entry was posted in 90's Culture and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

